I remember a year when my children were small, hearing someone on the radio talk about gifts.  It is not meant to be a requirement, but a privilege.  It is to be something based on caring so much for the other that there is a need for a visible symbol of that invisible truth.

When my children were young, we made holiday gifts and had good fun deciding who would be the recipients.  One year it was 3” disks of wood on which they painted pictures. Another year it was small cedar blocks to hang on the tree or in the closet.  It felt good and brought on the spirit of the holidays.

Creative Energy,

Only you could begin the joy of giving.  You gave us everything we have and love us so much that you continue to wastefully pour blessings upon us.  Amazing!

Lover of Life,

I bring my brothers and  sisters in Christ to you today.  Bless them for the gifts they continually lavish upon one another and on me: physical, ‘logical’, visible, invisible, tangible and abstract.  All are beyond value!  Remind them that the ability to making someone else feel happy is one of your best gifts to us.  As we approach the commemoration of the day you gave Jesus to humanity, grant us the willingness to serve others and the desire to please others.  And grant us the grace and maturity to have no desire for anything in return.

Generous Giver,

I thank you for little ornaments filled with memories.  I thank you for my children.  I thank you for the community of the faithful, those who have welcomed me extravagantly and love me abundantly.  Lord, I love you so much!

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2012

Live inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

