The two most important days in your life are the day you are born, and the day you find out why.”

~ Mark Twain (1835-1910); US author

Good morning God,

You know the reason WHY…  You made it happen.  You are the stuff of which it’s all made.

Contemplating the world if “your kingdom (were to) come on earth, as it is in heaven” makes my head spin.  With you on the throne, or leading us ALL, would war cease?  Would hunger end?  Would we selflessly give away the medication for illness and perform surgeries?  Would we find a way to share everything and have it be enough for all?

Lord of Life,

I’m human and usually when I understand I can remember.  When I think of “WHY”, I fall back on the catechism I was taught as a six year old:  you made me “to know, love & serve” you “and to be happy with” you “someday in heaven”.  A few weeks ago, Greg Skiba said the Westminster catechism declares “to enjoy” you.

Somehow, I think it means moving beyond worrying about my own self.  Is the “WHY” to be one of the humans who practices this?  This seems to me all that I have.  And so again this morning, I give it all to you.

I pray, Lord, that you will help me stay focused and help me to “live inspired”.  I pray you will keep me focused on this goal.  I pray you will remind me not to worry about the other little things like money.

I pray, Lord, that you will let me be a conduit for your grace.

Glorious and Generous Giver,

Thank you for my life.  Thank you for my friends.  Thank you for the chance to try again today.  I love you so much.

Through Jesus Christ,

Amen

Melissa Pazen © 2012

Live inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

