Today I read my “Stillspeaking Devotional” and marveled at Hebrew Bible text that was written more than several thousand years ago.  Clearly, someone thought it important to ‘write it down!  Put it on paper!” And we remember some of it and gratefully can read it to this day.

Author of the Ages,

You are behind our search for meaning in this world.  You created humans on this earth with the ability to wonder.  “Where did we come from?”  “Why are we here?” “Isn’t there something more than this?” “Why do bad things happen?” “Why is there illness?” “Why do we die?”

You could have created us to be like cattle or any other of your creatures, but in holy love, you gave us the ability to wax philosophical.  Amazing.

Perpetual Progenitor,

Today I approach you with humility and many requests.  For Thea’s health.  For Alan’s and Adrienne’s comfort.  For Susan’s relationships.  For Linda’s new job.  For Annamae’s ability to live independently. For CJ, in his job search. For Cynthia’s upcoming surgery. And I know that even if I forget someone who has asked, you know that I meant to include them.

In this busy season, help us all to take care of ourselves.  Remind us to take a few minutes to breathe and focus on that breath.  Help us to remember the good air comes from you.  Remind us to get enough sleep, to drink enough water, and to eat well for fuel not frolic.

Gracious Giver,

You continually pour your blessings upon us.  A cold sunny morning with a car that starts comes from you.  The keyboard on which I type comes from you.  You are wastefully generous with me and with us all.  I am so grateful.  I love you so much.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

Melissa Pazen © 2012

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

