In the month since the massacre at Sandy Hook, I have been trying to determine how to ‘wage peace’ instead of waging war.  Nature abhors a vacuum. As a Christian, I know that I can’t eliminate a sinful or unwanted behavior by meditating on “don’t ___”; I need to meditate on what God would want me to do instead.  

I teach our Sunday Schoolers with a balloon.  When we inhale, our lungs are like balloons being filled.  When we exhale, our lungs are emptied.  As we think we’re breathing in, I know God is filling us with with inspiration; God is breathing positive, loving energies for our good and the good of the world.  As we think we’re exhaling, God is removing negative and harmful things, even used up residuals of the inspiration that are no longer helpful.  As we allow God’s good to come into us, we think about what good we can do.  In my meditation, I hold the breath in for a count of four, getting maximum use from the oxygen and other good things in the air.  I hold God’s goodness and develop a plan to “wage peace”.  As I exhale, I expel doubts, negativity and sin.  I replace “bad habits” by finding a good habit to practice instead.  (The Sunday Schoolers love having a balloon to take with them for later!)

crayola bomb

Inscrutable Imagineer,

You are beyond my ability to understand.  You are all good and worthy of all my love and praise.  Your plan for the universe is a peaceable kingdom, an enormous symbiosis, where we live together in mutual benefit.  I woke early this morning to sing your praises.  Let these fall from my tongue until I fall into my bed tonight.

hicks-peaceable-kingdom-122012

Lord of Light and Love,

I bring to you today the need to move beyond violence.  Lord, help me and all of your creation find ways to discuss differences.  Remind us to find ways to practice peace.  Give us the inspiration needed to develop a new curriculum for our children, from their youngest.  Show us how to lead children to get along.  Show us how to raise children who love peace.  Give us ideas on how to help pre-schoolers, children, youth, adolescents and adults as all need ways to get what they need while being mindful of the needs of others.  Remind us to respect one another as your creations.  Remind us that ‘people are not for hitting’ and lives are meant to be lived without violent intervention or violent ends.

Lord, I love your creation; all of your people and animals, vegetables and minerals. Give me the ideas, the conviction, and the stamina, I pray of thee, to help be the change we so need to see in your world.

be-the-change-you-want-to-see-in-the-world-mahatma-gandhi

Continuing Creator,

You have made so many things for my use.  I have a warm home in this winter, a working computer, light when the sun is not yet shining on my part of the world, electricity and energy to power everything that keeps us going in this post-modern age.  I am grateful.  I pledge to use these tools well.  Lord, I just love you so much!

In Jesus’ name,

Amen

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

