A few days ago, there was a StillSpeaking Devotional about a United Church of Christ conference on acceptance of diversity in the same hotel as a Tattoo Artist convention.  This prayer came as my response.

 

Good morning God,

You are the source of our minds and how we perceive what we see.  You are the source of our sense of aesthetics, what we think beautiful.  You give all of us different opinions about that and there must be a reason for it that I don’t know.  Amazing!

tattoo-being-applied

Loving Lord,

My former sister-in-law Joann loves how tattoos look.  My daughter Kate thinks a tattoo on her ankle would be interesting and, if the same as her friend Sabrina’s, something that would bond them.  I see pain in the process and the healing; I see the possibility of disease; I see people of a group different from my own.  Lord, none of the things I see are preferences with which I was born.  Much like, as a child a new fallen snow was beautiful and as an adult, all I see is work.  Lord, I confess that I have adapted and adopted points of view of society.  I am not proud of this in myself.  I want to think of myself as pure and loving.  Help me to believe in the beauty seen by others that I don’t consider beautiful.  Help me to be open to people regardless of how they decorate themselves; to look for the beauty you put in them.

Lord, I pray that today, you will help me to focus on you and your love.  With your strength and your love, I can avoid sin.  Please Lord, help me to do that.

Generous Giver,

Thank you for the rain, we needed the moisture!  Thank you for my sweet husband and my friends and my dogs.  Thank you for the ability to work to pay for the things we need in life.  Thank you for my life. I love you so much!

In the almighty name of Jesus I pray,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

