In this morning’s Stillspeaking Devotional, the Rev. Lillian Daniel writes of a gay man from a conservative background, and how he felt alone both at church and with LGBTQ individuals who didn’t share his religious heritage. I love that she says:  “And I am grateful to the UCC for its early and extravagant welcome to those who have been wounded by other churches.” 

Jesus ate with the unclean, publicans & sinners.  He might even have been willing to share a meal with me.  How can I do anything less?  I continue to find the loving spirits in those who disagree with me most strongly, because Jesus showed me how.

Chicago pre-dawn

Omnipotent One,

Only you could call the worlds into being.  Only you would have thought to create species and breeds with such variety; from manx to tabbies, from lipizzaner to quarter, from pug to wolf hound, from gay to straight, from conservative evangelical to post-modern liberal.  All of us are your creations.  Amazing!

Lord of Light,

In this pre-dawn time when the sky lightens, I come to you. I think of Thea and her upcoming transfusion today; remind her that while with you, she will come to no harm.  Let her feel a sense of energy as blood filled with hemoglobin and good counts of white and red cells flow into her body.  Strengthen her in body and faith.  Let her remember that our love surrounds her and let that be a comfort; fill her with a sense of calm.

As the day begins, I bring Susan and Matt to you.  Let them take their time and know beyond a shadow of a doubt that they should be friends, committed to one another, or married.  Lead them to the proper outcome for all the right reasons, Lord.  Show them your will for them, Lord.  Open the hearts of each of their family members.  Let them revel in the love you have created in them.

Just before the sun rises, I remember Steve and his interview on Friday.  It feels as if it might be a longshot, but Lord, it would be such a gift to us to not need to strugglewith money!  I know he could do the management aspects of the job and I only hope he would be happy with it.  Please, Lord, if it be your will, let him get it!

Now as I turn to my workday, I pray you will remind me you are beside me always.  Inspire my work and  my work choices.  Let me be a blessing and a purveyor of your light, your enlightenment.  Let me help to bring your kingdom to come on earth, as it is in heaven.

Gracious God,

We have everything we need.  In you, we have our refuge and our strength.  I am so grateful; Lord, I love you so much!

And I pray in the most holy name of Jesus,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

