This morning’s StillSpeaking Devotional is entitled “Unmake”.  In it, Rev. Quinn Caldwell addresses the things we worship that stand in the way of our relationship with God.  He recommends finding a symbol of it and taking it outside to smash it.  I love his lighthearted approach to Christianity, all the while cutting to the heart of my humanity.

broken idols

Glorious God,

You are the only God I worship. Yet I get caught up in ‘things I gotta do’. I know praying first and getting with you is the best way to go about my day and yet, sometimes the demons of life pull me far away.

Loving Lord,

I pray today you will remind me that we are side-by-side and your arm is wrapped around my shoulder. Together we will knock down every idol that tries to take my attention from you.

Incredible Imagineer,

Everything I have is from you. Thank you for technology that helps me — the “appointment” to pray that I set each morning and snooze for a half hour each time I’ve murmured a short phrase of praise or gratitude. Thank you for my life! Thank you for your wasteful, extravagant love. Lord, I love you so much!

Through Jesus,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

