In this morning’s StillSpeaking Devotional from the United Church of Christ, Rev. Talitha Arnold talks of super-wildfires that have started in New Mexico because humans quickly extinguished the lesser wildfires.  Things that should have burned off years ago are part of what ignites now.  She goes on to say that giving up the old dead items is a metaphor for giving up things for Lent.  She alleges that sometimes, giving up can be a good thing and suggests giving up anger, fear, lack of trust.

I think I’ll ‘give up’ hypertension!  If I eat less sodium and add exercise, maybe that will work.  Perhaps I could also ‘give up’ 10 – 20 lbs…

It’s me again, God

Only you have the power to change my indulgent ways.  Only you have the power to remind me to care for this body you’ve given me to house my soul. 

good

Lord who Loves me,

I pray today that for these next 40 days, you’ll help me to hunger for you, not salt or chocolate or fatty meat.  I pray today that for these next 40 days, you’ll remind me to walk and meditate on you – or that you’ll send a support partner with whom I can practice “God Talk”.

They tell me it takes at least 21 days to build a habit.  I recall that “crisis counseling” is limited to 12 weeks, because by the end of that time, the crisis should have passed.  Lord, I call upon you, with these friends who read this as my witnesses, to inspire me and breathe me full of your peace – to avoid the yearning which I’ve filled with food.  Set me on fire with love, Lord.

fire-good

Incredible Imagineer,

Thank you for my brain; thank you for the will to try again.  Thank you for the wake-up calls of Steve’s interview (in which the prospective employer had concerns for Steve’s health) and my blood pressure check this morning (in which my hypertension remained at State 1). Thank you for my sisters and brothers in Christ.  Lord, I just love you SO MUCH!

 And I pray in Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

