This one is also based on reading the Stillspeaking Daily Devotional from the UCC.  What a gift: when God sends a devotional that pertains so well to the tasks we have at hand!  

What God is doing is our story, our hope, and the source of our energy.When Jesus turned and saw them following, he said to them, ‘What are you looking for?’ They said… ‘Where are you staying?’ He said to them, ‘Come and see.'”

John 1:38-39 

Umm, God?

Are you doing it again?  Are you playing with us and showing us the wonderful things you have in store for us?  Are you giving us an inkling of what you can do when you send a scripture passage and a devotional such as this one?  I think you are.  I know it isn’t whimsy; it’s deliberate on your part, and I am tickled by this.  I know only you could do it.  I know there is no other God.  I know that no entity other than you would want to do this.  I think you are so funny and so good to us.  Amazing!

Gracious Grandother,

I bring our congregation to you again today.  My sisters and brothers in Christ do an all but incredible job of embodying your spirit.  Your love lives in our church.  Your energy lives with us, too.  Your compassion is seen often.  Your plan for peace and justice is carried out by our members in the work we do in your name.  And you put me in the midst of these holy people.  I am overcome with joy and gratitude.

orange guy - prayer

 

Lord of Light,

I bring our congregation’s future to you again today.  If it pleases you, Lord, remind us all why we are together.  If it brings you glory, Lord, loose us from the bonds of our existing ways so that we can evaluate clearly what we are doing that best serves you.  If it pleases you, Lord, let us value our heritage and be true to it, even as we consider new and different ways.  If it brings you glory, Lord, send us visions of what you want us to be…  “that Congregational Church in Batavia…  the one that…”  Let us fill in those blanks, Lord, I pray of thee.

sesame_street_mad_lib

Generous Giver,

All that we see, all that we hear, all that we touch and taste and smell, and all that we know is true, all this has been and will always be a gift from you.  Thank you for light and air and animals, vegetables and minerals.  Thank you for technology and healing.  Thank you for beauty.  Thank you for our church.  Lord, I love you so much!

And I pray in Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

