I participate in a theology/bible study on Monday evenings.  This week, during our discussion on the series Living The Questions, we spoke of things that keep us from God and the theological solutions for each.  We spoke of them as blocks to our relationship with God.  

As has been the case quite a lot lately, a devotional arrived the next day that reminds me, invites me to meditate and helps me become nearer to God (I hope!). Donna Schaper wrote about “Laying on of Hands” – how the touch of laying on or even a massage can release blocked energy.

God-letter-building-blocks

I believe that there is a creative energy in the universe.  I believe love is this energy.  I call this energy God.  So the healing touch may indeed be releasing God’s loving energy.  Pretty cool, huh?

Incredible Imagineer,

You are all energy.  Your energy is the creative force of the universe.  Your energy is love.  You called the worlds into being and created people because  you want to be in relationship with us. We are your beloved creations. We are precious to you.  Amazing!

Lord of Liberation, Returning and Forgiveness,

I pray that you will inspire us to remove the blocks, whether bondage, exile, or sin.  Let us focus on restoring our relationship with you and valuing your people.  I pray you will remind us of the many ways we can overcome these blockages or obstacles.  Help us to remember  that the ‘what’ (being in relationship) is more important than the ‘how’ (choice of denomination or theological style).  With renewed fervor as we journey through Lent, let us end at the destination of your kingdom on earth.

antahkarana_lightning

Extravagant Energy,

Thank you for giving us  such abundant resources.  Food, thoughtfulness, air, light, wisdom – all things come from you.  We appreciate them, we see their value.  We love you so much!

Through Jesus, I pray,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

