This musing stems from reading the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill’s article about the Oscars, and a connection many nominated films had to mental illness.

Silver Linings

“These movies taught us that love can endure against all odds and transform our minds in the most surprising ways. And they reminded us that we can overcome any obstacle if we dig deep enough and fight hard enough and find the courage to believe in ourselves.” ~ US First Lady, Michelle Obama

Enduring Energy,

You are the inspiration for screenplay writers, even when they don’t know it.  You are the origin of everything.  I find you everywhere and I worship you.  You are love.  You are loving energy.  Amazing!

Loving Lord,

I come to you today asking for your focus.  Help me to keep my mind on carrying out your purpose and creating good.  Remind me to affirm the good I encounter.  Help me to remember to state the positive and to make more of it.  Let me help, in my small way, to bring your kingdom to come on this earth.

I pray for Thea, more than 2/3 done with her chemotherapy:  help her to eat well, rest well and stay strong through these days.  Let her breathe in your healing, loving energy.  Let her build her strength emotionally as she practices your loving ways.

chemotherapy-treatment

I pray for Denise, as she heals.  I pray for Tom as he goes through chemo.  I bring to you Joyce & Joe as they mourn the loss of Joe’s father.

What cancer cannot do

I pray for Sarah, struggling with a job she does not enjoy, but one that will help to cover her living expenses.  Draw her near you.  Show her a loving community in Boulder where she can be nurtured, and in turn, nurture others.

I pray for  Susan, building a new life with Matt.  You are the model for our relationships, Lord.  Show both Matt and Susan how to be loving of each other while taking care of themselves.  Let them build a strong family together.

I pray for Dianne and Bob, as they consider a brand new chapter in the location of their lives.  Open their eyes to see the area.  Inspire them to think of what’s best for themselves, their children and Dianne’s parents.  Show them your plan, Lord and remind them to be open to it.

I bring my congregation as we seek your will for us over the coming years.  Where would you have us work for you, Lord.  What would you have us do?  Please, Lord, open the eyes, hearts, and minds of our members as they see the resource we’ve written for the prayer vigil.  Thank you for inspiring Greg to put a copy in every worship guide this Sunday.  Whether members one week from tomorrow pray in our sanctuary or elsewhere, let them seek your purpose, Lord, and let them find you as they search for you with all their hearts.

Gracious Giver,

The snow gently falling outside is lovely and brings much needed moisture.  I’m warm and comfortable here.  Thank you for the abundant gifts and blessings you have bestowed upon me.  Bless them all, I pray, and use them and me for your will.

Through Jesus Christ,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

