This morning I had my weekly call with my friend and colleague, Marlaine Cover.  Marlaine is the founder of Parenting 2.0.  I realized that while I’ve told her about Instead, I’ve never told her about “So What?”.  

Whenever I’ve planned a retreat or most anything that involves a teaching point, I find myself at a place where I’ve covered the material and I’m just about done.  I then put my test of “So What?” to it.  “OK,” I think.  “I’ve just spent x amount of time listening to all this…  so what?  What have I learned?  What will I do differently?  How will this ‘wisdom’ change my life?  How will I make the world a better place?  So What??

So What by Roy Lichtenstein cartoon

God of All Good Things,

If you had stood back after showing the first sentient beings everything you gave them, you could have said “So What?”  I don’t know if their names were Adam and Eve, but somewhere along the line your creations got to ‘grow a brain’ – that is, a thinking brain.  Only you could have made that happen.  You are the creator; I am the creation.  So what?

So as often as I can remember, I write a prayer here to tell you that I worship and adore you.  I write a prayer to let you know that I have a sense of your infinity and my tiny part in it.  I write a prayer to tell you that I want to make the world a better place.  I write to tell you and anyone who reads, that I want to help bring your kingdom to come on earth.  You’re amazing!

Lord of Love,

So what?  Where do I start?  You know I try to do good, and fail.  You know I try to say at least one affirming statement to everyone I meet.  You know I try for two ‘strokes’ before I say something corrective or negative.  Do I help?  Does it matter? So what?

If it please thee, Lord, I pray you will help me to make my life matter to someone. Let me love someone enough that she or he finds you. Let me make even a little bit of a difference. Let me lighten someone else’s load, just a little bit.

so-what-baby

 

So there, so what!  So there!

Extravagant Energy,

You clearly love me so much; I only need to look at my home, my jobs, my causes, to know that your handiwork is everywhere.  I am grateful.  I love you so much!  And I pray

In Jesus’ holy name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

