Today’s UCC StillSpeaking Devotional is written by our favorite author, Quinn Caldwell.  Did you SEE the link of the halo?  It looks to me like a rainbow and certainly is like the way we imagined Jesus’ halo when I was a little kid.  I think I’ve seen paintings like that.

Perfect Painter,

You dreamed up all the colors of the rainbow.  You put all the beautiful colors in the stripes of the Grand Canyon and the Painted Desert and Red Rock.  Your sense of aesthetics is more beautiful than anything I could imagine.  Amazing!  And when humans acted selfishly and like bone-heads and like stuffy Pharisees, you sent Jesus to show us the way you want us to live.  Amazing!

glory

Loving Lord,

This morning, I bring my friend Susan to you.  Grant her your peace, that surpasses all understanding.  Give her unlimited joy as she prepares for the ceremony making public her marriage to Matt.

I bring Thea to you; we are so grateful for her healing and that you have ways for her to avoid nausea during chemo as well as ways for her to receive healthy blood chemicals to give her energy.

I bring Lindsey, and all our siblings in Christ who travel.  Make straight their ways and bring them safely home to their ministries with us.

I bring Tom, Carol, Debbie’s father and all who have pain and illness. Give them your energy and peace to keep the pain from turning into suffering.

I come to you my own self, asking for more energy and a sense of well-being. I pray you will bless my relationships and my interactions.

But most importantly, Lord, I pray you will take my life. For you can bend light to make a rainbow or a halo. “Bend me, shape me, any way you want me”, Lord.  The 1960’s pop tune comes to mind.  I looked it up and it could have been a prayer, maybe even with that bubblegum beat!

Bend Me Album

Bend me, shape me
Anyway you want me,
Long as you love me, it’s all right

Bend me, shape me
Anyway you want me,
You got the power to turn on the light.

Everybody tells me I’m wrong to want you so badly,
But there’s a force driving me on, I follow it gladly.
So let them laugh I don’t care,
Cause I got nothing to hide,
All that I want is you by my side.

Bend me, shape me
Anyway you want me,
Long as you love me, it’s all right

Bend me, shape me
Anyway you want me,
You got the power to turn on the light.
Bend me shape me anyway you want me*

Lord, as I try to submit to your will, I pray you will keep me mindful.  For as long as I remember, I try to spread your love.  As long as I remember, I try to be kind and generous.  The moment I forget, I fall back to my innate selfish, foolish ways.  And even with years of practice, loving doesn’t come to me without very deliberate thoughts.  I want to focus on you.  I want to bring your kingdom to earth.  I need your help.  I always will.

Generous Grandparent,

You lavish blessings upon me.  Your love fills every nook, every crevice and overflows around me.    Remind me to float, no to walk on your ocean of love.  Let it imbue my every motion, my every breath, my every thought.  I am thankful for all you’ve given me.  I appreciate the beauty I see and hear.  I am grateful for the comforts you send.  I am overcome with the love of the community of faithful with whom you surround me.

I pray through Jesus’ name, our Christ,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

*(Lyrics © CLAUS OGERMANN, PRES. D/B/A HELIOS MUSIC CORP.)

