This morning, I read an article on The Bonobo And The Atheist, a book written by primatologist and atheist, Frans de Waal. I added it to my Amazon Wish List because it looks to be right up my alley. In it, de Waal argues that ethical behavior, known in humans as morality, is an evolutionary phenomenon. The reviewer (theist and anthropologist Barbara J. King, whose book Evolving God also went on my Wish List) mentions that chimpanzees, macaques, and bonobos all are empathetic. De Waal also notes “there is little evidence that other animals judge the appropriateness of actions that do not directly affect themselves.”

Amazing Almighty,
You are. That alone leads me to praise you, merely for who you are. I rise in the morning and see evidence of you everywhere. You are. Amazing!

Lord of Light,
A non-judgmental being seems far worthier of your love than I am. I want to be non-judgemental. What happened in our evolution that took us away from the level of primates who have empathy and kindness. Do we need to be judgemental in order to be sentient? Perhaps these are two sides of the same coin; perhaps to be able to think and make decisions we must be able to judge. But, somehow, Lord, I’d rather not have the brain chemistry to judge others unless I can fully understand them. And I don’t think I can ever fully understand another. I think that’s your realm – not mine. For you are the Creator and I am but the creature.

146293843-bonobos-congo-sanctuary

So today, Lord, perhaps you can help me to be more like the primates. I like being able to think and I love having free will, but it would be wonderful not to have the hateful sin of judging others. As Paul said “all have sinned and fall short.”

Source of all Seen,
I thank you for my health and my sister Thea’s recovery. I thank you for the promise of spring.  (And, btw, Source of Humor and Whimsy, I will always be grateful for opposable thumbs!  Great idea!)

primateWorld

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

