Received email a few minutes ago from Pam, our Director of Connections:

I just received a call from Jill T.  While vacationing in Colorado, Amy (Jill’s daughter) has suffered a grand mal seizure.  She is in intensive care.  Please, please, lift Amy in prayer. 

Doug & Jill are on driving to Colorado this morning to be with Amy.  Pray for safe travel for Doug & Jill.  Pray for peace as they await news from tests.

Thank you dear prayers. 

Original Energy,

I rose this morning with a few plans and some time before to settle into the day.  You weren’t my first thought; forgive me.  However, the tune of Solid Rock was playing through my mind and the words “all other ground is sinking sand” have been rattling around inside my head. Now this email jogs my mind and calls me to pray.  You are the power of the universe.  You are amazing!

Gracious Grandparent,

You created Amy, just as you created each of us.  We love her, with her simple giving ways, and her steadfast love for her Christian Ed class who she followed from little through confirmation.  And now the wiring in her brain or the chemistry or whatever has gone wrong.  And I know that’s hard on a body.  I know you may have plans that I don’t understand – to which I’m not privileged to know; that’s the way it’s supposed to be and I trust you.  I also know Jesus told us to ask in his name.  So here’s what I’d like:  make it be ok.  Bring Amy back to health.  Give Jill and Doug a lovely little vacation with Amy and with Paula.  Ease any possibility of monetary suffering; make insurance cover everything.

Again, I think of a car as a monastery.  A place set apart for prayer.  Let it be so.

zDriveIntoSunset

And in the meantime, Lord, I know you will surround this entire family with your grace and with your love and with your strength.  Let them need only to see one another to know your presence.  Remind them to be gentle and kind, even if they are feeling stressed – although, seriously, Lord, this family has embodied grace in my eyes.  Let them feel your power just as they see a sunrise each morning.  Grant them that peace which surpasses all understanding.  Remind them to pray and trust when they begin to worry.  Remind them to lean on you.  Enfold them in your loving embrace and grant them the grace to enfold one another.

Generous Giver,

All good comes from you; the TRUE good.  While I sit in my warm house with my coffee and water brought to me, I am privileged in this world beyond belief.  You’ve given me the type of mind that longs for good beyond these creature comforts. You’ve given me the type of heart that loves and longs for love.  Thank you for these more important gifts. Thank you for cars and gasoline and time to travel. Thank you for whatever will occupy Doug’s and Jill’s thoughts as they drive for so many hours.  I love you so much.

I pray in Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

