Our interim pastor, the Reverend Greg Skiba, delivered an Easter sermon that was well worth pondering.  Entitled “Transforming Mystery”, it started with the disagreement in the four Gospels on who went to the tomb on Easter morning.  It went on to address what Easter’s really about.  Hearing the following led me to request a written copy:

Whenever courageous faith faces down death, it is a sign that Jesus was NOT locked up forever in the tomb, that death could not hold him.  It’s a sign that he is working with us to overcome hatred with compassion, destruction with acts of patient kindness, replacing fears and memories of inner pain with healing peace, and bringing reconciliation to broken lives and relationships.

God of Grace and Goodness,

Your majesty shines throughout the universe.  Your power is everlasting. You created me and love me more than I could ever imagine.  Amazing!

And you sent Jesus to show us what you look like and how you act and how you think.  You made a perfect replica of yourself so we could have a perfect example.  Amazing!

And you remind us that we can be like you.  You send powerful speakers to tell us that death has no power over perfect love, over compassion, over kindness, over peace, over your ability to reconcile brokenness.  Amazing!

healers-view

Incredible Imagineer,

Live in me today as you lived in Jesus.  Give me the ability to love when I feel petty or selfish.  Remind me that these impulses, wholly human, are not the way you want me to be.  As Jesus overcame death, let me overcome my sin and my ungraceful qualities.

Lord of Light and Love,

I bring Mike and Amy to you for healing.  For Mike, we would love a diagnosis of something minor.  We would be thrilled to find that his malady is curable, treatable, that he can live a long and healthy life.  For Amy, whatever caused the fever and seizure let it be gone never to return.  For both of these people, let them grow in strength and faith.  Let them sing your praises for the wonderful things you have done.

Bestower of Blessings,

You have given us so much. As we strive to be good stewards of the earth and to solve the problems of poverty, hatred, injustice; remind us also to care for ourselves and to find your joy.  Grant us the humility to recall that all we have is from you.  Lord, I love you so much!

health-wellness

I pray in Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

