As I was reading this morning’s StillSpeaking devotional, I was reminded of some reading I’ve done recently to prepare for this blog.  The point of the particular piece I recall was that love and fear are the motivations for almost everything.  The suggestion was that one try to operate from a place of love.

I believe violence is a primitive human reaction to stress.  Unfortunately, most humans learn that hurting others can be powerful. 

peace-cosmic

Glorious God,

You created us.  I believe the flailing that ultimately teaches children to hit comes from the simian reflex.  Of course, the reflex helps infant primates to grab their mothers or a tree branch and keep from falling, but I sure don’t understand why humans still have the reflex.  You’ve given us such sheltered places to live; we’re not in trees anymore.  Lord, I know that I don’t need to understand.  I know it is only for me to observe and respond with your grace.  Amazing!

Lord of Love,

Only you have the power to fill me with love.  I am otherwise a mere mortal and human; I fall back into sin, fear and hatred.  You sent the perfect example to us in Jesus.  His response, almost always, was to love.  The gospels in our bible tell of only one situation in which Jesus experienced righteous indignation and threw the ‘brood of vipers’ that were money changers out of the temple.  And that was during his last week, when he may have had an inkling of what was to come.

Prince of Peace,

If fear leads to violence, and love leads to peace, remind me to choose love.  If it must be my ‘every five minute mantra’, amen.  I’ll set the tickler to ‘love leads to peace’ and snooze it for five minutes!  Let my love show to others and let them react with love.

Lord God,

I remember Amy, Owen’s father, my colleague Chuck’s friend, and many others who have asked for prayers for healing. I am very grateful that Thea is close to the end of her chemotherapy sessions!  I know only you have the  power to heal.  I am grateful for your messengers and vehicles of healing: doctors, hospitals, medical professionals, technology and medication!

As the elections prove, Francine and Diane have both become Library Trustees, and we are grateful. These women are your faithful servants, Lord, and want to do your work, remind them to pray as they head for their meetings. Fill them with your grace.

Spirit of Serenity,

Thank you for umbrellas and raincoats as I thank you for rain.  If it be your will, Lord, keep us from drought this year.  This morning’s weather reminds me of Seattle where the moisture makes even wonderful weeds.  And the birds chirping as I walked from my car (thank you) to my office (thank you) was a delight to my ears.  You love me more than I can imagine and I continue to strive to watch for that love.  I love you so much!

And I pray in the name Jesus,

Amen.

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”

~ Eleanor Roosevelt (1884-1962); U.S. First Lady, diplomat, human rights activist

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

