This morning I found myself singing “For the beauty of the earth”:
  
flowers
For the beauty of the earth
For the glory of the skies,
For the love which from our birth
Over and around us lies.
 
Refrain:

Lord of all, to Thee we raise
this our joyful hymn of praise.
For the beauty of each hour
Of the day and of the night,
Hill and vale and tree and flow’r
Sun and Moon and stars of light
 
Refrain
For the joy of human love,
Brother, sister, parent, child.
Friends on earth and friends above
For all gentle thoughts and mild.
Refrain
For each perfect gift of Thine
To our race so freely given.
Graces human and divine
Flow’rs of earth and buds of heav’n.
Refrain
For thy church that evermore
Lifteth holy hands above,
Offering up on every shore
Her pure sacrifice of love.
Refrain
 
Pretty good, huh? 
 
As I looked up the lyrics, I found that it is “a hymn for ordinary time”. While I’ve seen the phrase previously, I wondered what is meant by it so I looked it up.  It means not a specific season like Lent or Advent.  Most of our lives is spend in ordinary time, yet ordinary doesn’t begin to reflect what it means.
  
Always Almighty,
You are the source of the seasons and of ordinary time.  Yet, this creation of yours is far from ordinary.  Only you could have made so many places creatures and let them change and grow and flourish.  And that’s how you made us.  Amazing!
Everloving Energy,
I pray for Amy and I thank you for the improvements.  Your healing and your strength and your love are evident, especially in the outpouring of concern by all who know Amy. Amy is your true and faithful servant as are those who surround her with their love and prayers.
I bring Susan to you, put your hand on her back and make it feel better, please. She lives for you, Lord, to show your graciousness.  Whenever she cannot get out of the house, you lose an opportunity for others to see this.  That may sound manipulative, but I don’t mean it that way…  it’s merely fact.
I bring Linda and Mike to you.  They love Sandman, he is their own true dog.  Ease his pain and let them enjoy his golden days.
Thank you for Thea’s clean bill of health.  Keep the nasty cancer away and let her recuperate fully.
Quote-Contemplate-Beauty-Earth-Reserves-Rachel-Carson
Serene Source,
Thank you for sunshine and sprouting seeds that I can later plant outside for food.  Thank you for days of leisure and days of work.  Thank you for the beauty of the earth.  Thank you for my life.  I love you so much!
In Jesus’ name, I pray,
Amen.
 
To God be the glory!
Melissa Pazen © 2013
Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!
