I got word of the death of my friend Owen’s father.  At first I started to think about how Owen’s dad had lived a good long life.  Then I thought that his battle with cancer is over.  Then I thought about my own parents’ deaths.  There’s simply never a good time.

Endless Energy,

Long before Owen or I had come to this earth, you knew us.  Long before Owen’s dad had been the desire of his parents, you knew him.  You are.  You know.  You do.  You create.  You love.  Only you could plan for each of us and count the hairs on our heads and call us, by name, to be your beloved.  Amazing!

Burden Bearer,

You carry our loads, yoked with us.  As we grieve, so do you.  Yet you tell us there is no sting in death.  I know that’s true for those who have gone through death before us.  Those left behind feel sorrow, however.  And you are with us.

pallbearer

Lord, I bring Owen and all who loved his father.  I pray you will give them rest and solace.  Let them celebrate the life they’ve lost, knowing that love will continue. Hold them in your dearest embrace.  Let them stand with your support. Fill them with your comfort. Pour your grace onto them and let them be gentle and kind with one another.

Lord, I know there is a time for every purpose under heaven.  I know there is a time for death, but Lord, I can’t find it in my heart to believe that for those left behind there is ever a good time.  I think of Kris and Betsy, both of whom were nowhere near ready to lose their husbands.  I think of my brothers and sister and myself, losing our mothers when we were so young.  And yet, I know, Lord, that for those of us who walk with you, the journey goes on.  Some days it is easier, others it is as hard as if it happened again right now.

Lord, send your peace through the crying.  Send your humor through the dark and frightening times, I pray of thee, Lord…  if it please thee. Send your courage to face these days ahead, to go on with days, to be filled with gratitude for what we’ve had, for who we’ve loved, for who you’ve given us to go with us through our journey of time and experience.

iris

Generous Giver,

For the forsythia buds that burst into bloom, for the promise of lilacs and cherry blossoms, for things past and a glorious future, I thank you.  All comes from you. I love you so much!

I pray in the mighty name, Jesus,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

