The 5/22 Stillspeaking Daily Devotional from the UCC was written by Rev./Prof. Mary Luti.  As I finished reading it, I was in tears.  It took me 18 minutes to stop while praying the following.  If you haven’t read it, click the link above.  It’s among the most beautiful!

God of Wind and Quietude,

I don’t understand how you can be both, but I trust you are.

Moore, Oklahoma Tornado on Ground

God of Chaos and Order,

I can’t fathom where I would begin in a catastrophe like Oklahoma’s, but I trust you do.

God of Creation and Destruction,

I can’t imagine the purpose of this horrific situation, but I know you’re there, and I trust that my task is to begin anew and every moment I need it, to rest in your arms – crying, planning, lauding, thanking.

God of Faith, Hope and Love,

I remember the words of the TV ad from the 1960’s, “Where there’s life, there’s hope.”

moore-ok-tornado-prayer-2

Ever-present Energy,

I bring this mess in Moore, Oklahoma to you and I place it at your feet. I don’t have the power alone to resolve it. Indeed Lord, no human nor group of humans have the power alone.  I praise you, Lord, because you do.

Remind me to pray without ceasing today.  Remind me to cling to you, for I will be better off with your loving arm around my shoulder than anywhere without you.  Remind me to hope today, because up until now, bad has always gotten better when I prayed and planned and practiced patience, then put my shoulder to the load as I put on the yoke with you.  Remind me today to love, for there’s really no other reason for me to be here.

Generous Grace,

It may not feel like much sometimes, but as long as we still are living, we have an incredible gift from you.  I’m grateful.  The house may be gone, but if someone survived and someone else can hold that person, cling to that person, take and offer support, each has an incredible gift from you.  If clean water, a change of underwear, a cell phone, a nourishing meal is brought in by “the helpers” (as Fred Rogers’ mother would say), all will be well again eventually.

moore-ok-tornado-work

That was a POWERFUL wind.  And no, I don’t think you were angry at ANYONE nor sent tornadoes to punish ANYONE.  I think bad things happen and it’s up to you and me to pull up our bootstraps or our ‘big-girl panties” and get to work to bring your kingdom, to end evil, to create a world filled with love that can overcome anything, even death.  So, God of all Good Things, thank you.  Thank you for my life.  Thank you for a few extra dollars to send to the non-profits that will help.  Thank you for FEMA, even though I can’t fix it all by itself.  Thank you for the calm, beyond the  storm.  Lord, I just love you so much!

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the Glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

