Oh, Golly, I could see myself doing a 5-hour sprinkler fiasco like that described in Quinn Caldwell’s latest Stillspeaking Devotional.  I’d suggest you read his piece then come back to this.  (“Grass looks great, though; don’t you think?”) 

Although my sprinkler fiasco will be me as the Grandma (please God, someday…  whenever the time is right!) between the praise dancing and the finger painting.  My poor kiddos never got a 5-hr sprinkle from me, we mostly lived in a 3rd floor walk-up!

oa-sprinkler

Anyway, the following excerpts from the devotional explain why Quinn Caldwell can run his inspirational sprinkler on my parched soul ANY OLD time:

I think most of the dry wastelands in which we find ourselves are of our own creation.  We live in wastefulness or wantonness or selfishness or just general jerkiness.  And then when the good water is used up and our friends have all been driven away and we find ourselves dry and alone, we look around, surprised, and claim it’s not our fault.

Luckily, I live in a pretty wet part of the world, and our well refilled itself quickly.  Luckier still, we worship a God who pours herself out in streams of living water on the just and the unjust, and nobody who doesn’t want to need live in a parched land of their own creation for long.

Relentless Renewer,

You give us the water we need and then, after we’ve wasted it, you replenish the source and we can start all over again!

pride sprinkler

Loving Lord,

Remind us to be mindful caretakers of the wonder we call earth.  Let us be daring in our efforts to reduce our carbon footprints.  Let us remember that you’ve been extravagant, relentless, even wasteful in the blessings you’ve showered upon us.  Remind us to sing “Dayenu” (“it would have been enough for us”) every time we see your gifts – the grand canyon, polar ice caps and glaciers, the migration of Serengeti, the great barrier reef, the Victoria and Niagara falls, the aurora borealis, the Amazon rainforest and each sunrise.

Generous Giver,

For all we have, for all we experience, for all we feel, I am grateful.  Lord, I love you so much!

sprinkler

And I dare to pray in Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the Glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

