My first thought in reading this devotional was “I should forward this to Steve (my husband); maybe he’d understand then, when I mention God.”  Then I thought “Why fuel the fire?”  Then I thought “I really need to pray that Steve realizes I’m trying to live a Christian life and  pray that he’ll accept it.” So that prayer has been stated.

Gods goodnews cat

This is how Steve would like to look when I mention God.

And in the last few minutes, I received a note from a colleague who I’ve only met a few times, but whose work sometimes overlaps with mine.  She wanted to let me know that she’ll have surgery and be out for three weeks.  We’re Facebook friends, so this was an easy one.  Anyone who has seen my posts on Facebook knows I talk about/to God (and frankly, Steve hid me when I came out strongly against the ‘defense of marriage act’…  when it was struck down, I think I posted 15 times in 15 minutes…  he wanted me to STOP posting…  and that wasn’t even God).

So anyway, I wrote back to Kathryn, my pre-op colleague, and told her if she’d like, I’d pray.  She wrote back and said she enjoys my inspiring posts.  And told me she has a very early, small breast cancer. And I wrote back and said I’d had one of those six years ago & I’ve had no ill outcomes.  And she wrote back and thanked me and said there’s a family history and the doctors have been watching her for quite some time.  So I wrote back:

“I believe God’s love comes to us in healing energy (and doctors and medicines and nursing staff and a lot of other ways).  So here’s the deal; you keep optimistic & avoid stress.  “We” will take care of the rest…  for whatever is supposed to happen.  My money’s going on the “Kathryn will come through this beautifully” square.”

Will you pray with me please?

prayer-conversations-with-god.

Ever-present Energy,

Even when I don’t plan to speak of you, you put your name on my lips (or come out through my typing fingers).   I know you’re always with me.  It’s a comfort and a privilege to be in your presence.  You are amazing!

Lord of Lightness,

You edify us as we lift others up in prayer.  Open Steve’s heart to your love & energy.  Help him to feel the love you channel through me.  Remind me to show him your love and kindness and compassion.  Delight him, I pray, with your overwhelming blessings; give him tangible proof of your love.

Help Kathryn to stay optimistic and calm.  Be her medical team, be the lighting in the OR, be the anesthesia, be the pain medication, be Kathryn’s family and friends as they care for her.  Surround her with healing energy and support her at moments when she lacks strength.  Remind her to take care of her body, your creation.

Gracious God,

The technology, the seeking mind, the beauty of the earth – all comes from you.  I am grateful.  Lord, I love you so much!

I claim Jesus’ promise as I pray in his most holy name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

