“… they look on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart”

 from I Samuel 16:7

 

Kate is in love!  And she has been for about five years.  Her beloved Will seems also to be head over heels with Kate. 

 

1356716148742

Kate & Will indulge me with a smile while watching a good old fashioned Demolition Derby (@ Sycamore Speedway). Aug., 2012.

When they had been dating for a while, Kate brought Will to the house so we could meet.  My first thought (forgive me!) was, “she’s SO beautiful and he’s NOT a Ken doll look-alike.”  Isn’t that horrid?  So evil for a supposedly Christian woman! Refusing to act on such wretched thoughts, I listened & talked and got to know this person my daughter esteems.  The light in his eyes when he looks at my daughter is enough to bring tears to my eyes.

Consider that many believe “God is Love”.  Now, replace “the Lord” in the I Samuel verse with “love”.  Now think about how Kate looks on Will and how Will looks on Kate. 

May we all begin to be love when we look on others.  Will you pray with me, please?

 

Lord of Love,

Yours is the energy that keeps the universe in motion, ever changing.  Your plan for us is love, mercy, understanding and a quest for justice.  You are AMAZING.

Source of inSight,

Help us to look more in than on others.  Help us to remember to keep our perspective pure from pettiness.

Generous Giver,

Your extravagant and relentless love overwhelms us.  It seeps into every pore and every space in our beings, until it overflows. And you never stop.  Thank you.  I am so grateful. 

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

 

Not to us, but to God be the glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; live authentically; laugh frequently!

