But the Lord said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
– II Corinthians 12: 9-10

That phrase, “there but for the grace of God, go I…” has been used for years. Mama said it often.  It speaks to our vulnerability.  Similar to “that’s not happened to me”, but…  empathetic.  Anyway, I was hospitalized after going to the Doctor’s office with a ridiculously high blood pressure.  And lying there feeling vulnerable, I knew that “there go I”.

Will you pray with me, please?

 

Incredible Imagineer,

The universe reflects the beauty you envision.  Your creations sing your praise.  I worship you.  I pray on figurative bended knee while my fingers shout of your glory.

Loving Lord,

I pray today to give you the glory and to thank you for all you have done for me.  For I was ill and you healed me.  Your perfect power restored balance and stability to my life.

empty bed

I am grateful.  I thank you, too for resolving Amy’s troubles.  That’s simply amazing!  And I am filled with gratitude for the friends you have provided who care for me.  The cards, the soup, the emails and calls; all demonstrate your love being spread through your followers.

And, Lord, thank you for relieving my mother-in-law’s pain.  Thank you for antibiotics that clear infection.  Thank you for physical therapy techniques that regenerate muscle mass and strength.  Thank you for returning clarity of thought.

circle

Path Straightening God,

With every step, we are closer to your kingdom.  Speed it’s coming, Lord, so we may witness all you have done and all you can do.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; live authentically; laugh frequently!

