Today is Oct. 25, 2013.  This morning’s Devotional, written be Rev. Kenneth Samuel, is based on

“But to obtain these gifts, you need more than faith; you must also work hard to be good, and even that is not enough.  For then you must learn to know God better and discover what God wants you to do.” – 2 Peter 1:5

faith_works_landscape

 

The devotional addresses the need for practices based on one’s principles (the values, not the school administrator!)  Mentioned is Congress and their deadlock and how it doesn’t serve ANYone.  Will you pray with me, please?

Practical Peace,

You are!  You called yourself “I AM” when you spoke with our ancestors.  Only you have the power and the peace.  You are glorious and graceful!  Only you are worthy of my worship.  Amazing!

Loving Light,

This morning I pray for all the leaders of government – not only in my country but in all countries.  Help them to remember they have been put in power not for their benefit but for the benefit of all people, for the common GOOD.  Remind them that you transcend religion – that worshiping you are more important than the way in which we pray or the name we give you.  Common to all these is the love of you and one another, the emptying/humbling of oneself, the need to pray/meditate.  Remind them that you have the power and without you, nothing can be done.

Congress

Again, I remember people who have asked for prayer – young and old, healthy and ill, starting life or nearing its end on this earth.  Thea, Susan, Blair, our Pastoral Search Team, Marsha and Mike, Mary, her mother & her family, my own self.  I pray for Steve and for my relationship with him.   And being a mere mortal, I know I remember fewer names than requests.

Incredible Imagineer,

You also gave us gratitude, along with so many gifts.  I am grateful.  Thank you.

And I dare to pray in Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

Melissa Pazen © 2013

Live Inspired:  pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

