“What does the law of Moses say? How do you read it?”   The man answered, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your strength, and all your mind.’ And, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”  “Right!” Jesus told him. “Do this and you will live!”

~ Luke 10: 26-7

I awakened from a dream in which I was at a KC Cougars baseball game and a woman was judging others in the name of Christianity. After some strange shenanigans (yep, it was a dream alright!), I had a chance to explain that I could sum up my faith with “Love God with all your heart. Love your neighbor as yourself.”  And “judge not lest you shall be judged.” 

(When I typed the sentence above, instead of ‘chance’, I typed ‘change’.  I find myself caught up in realizing the  similarity of these words…  and their relationship.  Hence, the title for this post.  And, yes, I’ve always been tangential!)

Now I have this song in my head. Not a bad earworm…

love_biblicalmeditation1

Will you pray with me, please?

Good morning Good God,
You amaze me. You fill my head with thoughts of you even as I sleep. You send synaptic communication. You are in every cell of my being. And of course, you are in every other cell and molecule of creation. You add a drop of yourself, your energy, your love. I adore you. I worship you.

Faithful Foundation, Gracious Grantor,
Many spring to mind, as I think of those ‘standing in the need of prayer’. My friend, Amy, who was so sick last spring is stricken with pneumonia. It’s so hard for her to avoid illness with that nasty lupus. Heal her, Lord, and send a cure for lupus! There are infants who have congenital issues and babies with little bodies that don’t serve them.  There are parents who need to know about Baby Safe Haven laws to avoid abandoning their infants unlawfully.  Make them all whole. There is evil to be overcome; I see it in selfishness of individuals and countries – greed fills the gaping holes people have that wouldn’t exist if they would allow themselves to be filled with your love. Be with Laura’s father as he struggles with lung cancer and the unfortunate side effects from testing agents. Imbue him with your strength and love, fill him with your energy of healing. Soften Steve and remove his anxiety over money. Fill him with hopeful energy. Remind him to relax when he’s not in control of circumstances and needs to be patient.

ring-heart

Give my friend, Melissa (with such a similar name) a wonderful 10th anniversary cruise – ensure she at least avoids pain with her ear/sinus infection, keep her safe and let her bask in the love of her husband.

Incredible Imagineer,

Thank you for Thea and her health. Thank you for Nancy to advocate for me in my battles — and succeeding when I would have given up. Thank you for the promise of plans for my welfare, not destruction. Thank you for bringing me and so many others through troubled times. Thank you for reminders to avoid pride, for only you are the potency; I am but the vessel to be filled with it (filled to overflowing, I might add!). Thank you for friends who show me your support and enfold me in love and peace. God, I love you so much!

In Jesus’ name,
Amen.

To God be the glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2013

Live Inspired: pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

