Don’t waste your time on useless work, mere busywork, the barren pursuits of darkness. Expose these things for the sham they are. It’s a scandal when people waste their lives on things they must do in the darkness where no one will see. Rip the cover off those frauds and see how attractive they look in the light of Christ.

~ Ephesians 5:11-16 The Message

Darkness and light.  Interesting shadows.  Opacity and transparency.  Artificiality and authenticity.  

How interesting to realize that being authentic is not being reactive.  To be true to the ‘me’ who God created, I must be mindful and deliberate.  Else, the ‘id’ of impulse takes over and all I do is eat chocolate and sleep.

This musing comes after reading today’s StillSpeaking Devotional, written by the Rev. Jimmy R. Watson.  He uses the scripture above.  

IMG_4096Yesterday, I finished a glass-bubble privacy panel to go in the window next to the front door of my house.  The morning before that, I noticed light coming through the center of a stained glass piece I had made several years ago.  

IMG_4089I had heard a story many years ago about a boy who had been told that the stained glass windows in the church were saints.  When asked later for a definition of a saint, he said “Someone who the light shines through”.  Maybe that’s technically translucent, not transparent, but it matches what we think of when someone states that people and organizations should act transparently, authentically.  

And so as the coffee bubbles into the pot, God’s love bubbles into me.  Thoughts of God pervade my being.

Loving Leader,
You are my God. I worship you. I will do as you please. Only you have the perfect vision. Only you could find the perfect place for me on earth.  You have a plan for how I should live out my life; how I may take part in bringing your kingdom to come on earth.  You only want what’s best and you fill us with love until every cell is complete and still your love flows and overflows.

Processed by: Helicon Filter;
Gracious Grantor,
Clear my vision and help me to stay focused on your will. Heal those for whom we’re praying, salve the wounded, elevate the low. Remind us that you are the air we breathe. Keep our beings in proper perspective with your massive universe.  Let your love overflow and splash from me.
Perfect Parent, Generous Grandother,
You set gifts before us because you SO want to please us. Thank you for opening my eyes to seek them, and you.  Thank you for coffee.
In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2013

Live Inspired: pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

