Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.  

~ Phil. 4:8

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????My blood type is B positive.  I used to say this is why I’m such an optimist.  These days, however, I can be cranky for what seems like weeks on end.  That’s not fair to others and it’s not fair to me and it’s really not fair to God.

I noticed last night that I’m irritated about this extreme cold that keeps me indoors with my car garaged.  There have been warnings on the radio to avoid going out at almost any cost.  My office is closed and I know that’s good because my car would likely give trouble trying to start after sitting in the wind-blown parking lot.  But I’m tired of the things that normally occupy me.  Mind you, I could make a lengthy list of things that could occupy my time well.  And so, I must.  But first, I need to talk with God.

Will you pray with me, please?

Everpresent Energy,

I’m getting bored in the house. You have made a universe that allows for beauty in every hour, and I am on the verge of sin as I refuse to enjoy it. As I meditate on the possibilities for this day of potential solitude, I know that you would want me to focus on doing good. You are perfect, you are wisdom, and just the fact that you ARE makes you worthy of my praise and adoration.  You are more than I could ever conceive.  You are amazing!

Loving Lord,

I pray that you’ll help me to adjust my attitude. Help me to fix my thoughts on purely pleasing you. Lighten my mood and remind me of my purpose, to help others. There is much I could do and now I shall make a list of a few of those things so that I can sense achievement when all items are checked complete.  And if I need to make a second list, inspire it.

Bee PositiveAs I share my home with Steve and the dogs, let me keep my mind focused as you would have me do. Strengthen our relationship and bless it. Let us find happiness in one another – not annoyance or blaming our discomforts on the other. Be with me always; put your hand on my mouth, if necessary to stop me from speaking meanness.  Let your blessed fingers unfurrow my brow and make my face a light of your love.

I bring to you also, those who are forced to be outside in such dangerous conditions. Show them ways to get warm and safe. Ensure that all have good nutrition and hydration to stay healthy.

I think of those who struggle with illness and injury. Lord, I pray you will be present in healing each of them, and when healing is not possible I pray you will keep them from suffering.

Generous Grandother,

Be PositiveYou have given us so much. Let me remember to be grateful for the light and warming energy of the sun. Let me thank you for water and coffee.  Let me revel in the fact that you have granted those in my circumstances more than enough to survive, you have granted me all I need to thrive and Lord, I pray I can thank you by using all these gifts as your faithful steward.  I am grateful.  Lord, I love you so much.

And I pray in Jesus’ name,

Amen.

To God be the glory!

© Melissa Pazen, 2014

Live Inspired: pray continually; think boldly; dare greatly; love unconditionally; act deliberately, kindly, justly, mercifully and humbly; forgive easily; laugh frequently!

